Minimalist Apple Life

Third party apps I use on my minimalist iPhone, iPad and Mac

Here is a list of third party applications I’m going to install after 6 months with minimalist Apple setup. They all let me do the work faster and in a more convenient ways.

I rely on apps with iCloud support only. I’m an Apple guy and it’s the best way to sync data as sync always happens in a background and I don’t need to open an app to sync data.

Also I use only apps that are available on iPhone, iPad and Mac. If any app doesn’t have even one version for one of this platform I will not use it. In most cases, as sometimes there are no other options.

iCloud support and availability on iPhone, iPad and Mac isn't always an option. I stick to it, but about 5% of used apps don't have iCloud or aren't supported on necessary devices.

Enpass

Keychain is a crap. I’d love to use an app called “Minimalist Password Manager”, but it lacks some important features. I’ll switch to it once they’ll be added.

Enpass has multiplatform support and there is a lifetime purchase (one time payment). It has various sync options, even iCloud. Design isn’t the best. It’s so so. But Enpass has all features I need.

VPN Unlimited

To stay secure online when I’m on public WiFi. I’ve a lifetime version (one time payment). It has really fast servers and I don’t see any speed difference when I use it or not. Very stable, fast and easy to use. Lifetime payment was a right deduction years ago.

PDF Expert

Preview is good on Mac. But PDF Expert is much better. There is no Preview on iPhone and iPad. For reading books in PDF or working with PDF documents, editing or filling them there is no better app. Everything else ic a crap.

Unfortunately PDF Expert 3 was released and they did some changes to the app, that made it worth than it was before. A price is to high for what app can do. Thats’s why I don’t update it and still use older version. I’ll try PDF Expert 3 on other device ad if it’s really better I’ll upgrade, because all previous version users get features they had for free.

There is a better app «Highlights» in terms of annotations or notes for reading and research. But it has only a subscription. I don’t use apps with subscriptions. The real beast is MarginNote 3 for research, annotations, taking notes and all that stuff, but it copies documents to it’s library and the app doesn’t work with original files (it has no Files browser or provider).

Lingvo dictionary

Not the best app as an app. But it has so many dictionaries. They are the best and the fullest.

Scanner Pro and Abby FineReader PDF

Built in scanner feature is too simple. Scanner Pro is a perfect app. It only can’t OCR documents, that’s why I use FineReader for this. FineReader in other scenarios is terrible and awful if compared to Scanner Pro. FineReader can OCR on iPhone or iPad, not only on Mac.

Documents by Reddle

I add there some work related clouds I have to use. It’s more convenient than using each cloud app. Everything is in one place. But the app has other great features. It can read ePub files, convert audio from one format to another, or export audio from video and so much more. One app can replace lot’s of others. I like such solutions when you have so much power in one app and don’t have to install lots of others and clutter your device. Works also on Mac.

News Explorer

Oh my… It’s really the best RSS reader ever made. It’s so much better than popular Reeder 5 or NetNewsWire. It can do more, do better than any other RSS app. News Explorer «eats» everything: RSS, Newsletters (via Kill The Newsletter service), YouTube, podcasts, Telegram channels, Twitter accounts and so on. It even has an Apple TV app with I often use. I’m surprised it’s not that popular as it should be.

With News Explorer my email account is free from newsletters, Telegram from channels. I can follow my favourite bloggers on YouTube and Twitter. Everything is in one place by topic: Apple, Psychology and so on. I don’t need to jump from one app (even have apps installed) / site to another. I just open Apple folder and see blogs, news, YouTube, Twitter, Telegram channels, newsletters in one place ordered by date published. I don't see recommended section, ads, and there is no clever algorithm feed. No distractions.

AdBlocker

It’s an app name. Need to block ads, pop ups and other crap on the web. With it it’s a more pleasure experience to surf the web. It even kills YouTube ads in Safari. I got it for free, that’s why still use it. Maybe there are better options. If you know - let me know.

PastePal

Clipboard manger for iPhone, iPad and Mac with iCloud sync. Use it daily. It was so hard to live without it. I often need to visit my clipboard history. Also I store there email templates, templates for my diary and other text snippets for personal and work life.

iContacts app

Even the most expensive iPhone or iPad can’t create contacts groups and move contacts from one group to another. This app solves this problem. Ugly app, but does it’s job. I would use Cardhop but it uses super expensive subscription.

Telegram

I don’t use WhatsApp and hate it. Telegram is the only one third party messenger I need. Use it mostly to have conversations with non iMessage people. I’ve to use it. If iMessage was able on Windows and Android I wouldn’t need Telegram. If you don’t use it – I do recommend to give it a try.

Money Pro

To track my income and expenses. I’ve been using the app for lot’s of years. That’s why I still use it. It’s simple. And there are much better apps. Money Pro didn’t receive any features update while I’ve been using it. Probably will change it in a new year. Long time ago it was one of the best, but not now.

I don’t recommend it as you may be disappointed. Strongly, but it still works for me even if I do need more features. Or I don’t?

ScreenFlow

For screen recordings, video editing for tutorials. There is no better app for this. As personal Apple consultant I use it often. It's easy to work with and powerful.

LumaFusion

Let's be honest. iMovie is bad. Is too basic and limited. It even can't work with vertical videos in 2022(no way to fully show them on iPhone or iPad)! LumaFusion is like FinalCut but for mobile devices.

This are the main third party apps I need

Not that much at all :) All this apps make my life easier. It can work faster, be more productive and effective. Each app is used daily. These apps aren’t the best in terms of UI/UX, but who is perfect. Overall experience is great and I can call all these as «The best» (only Money Pro isn’t).

Just 14 new apps. I’ll replace by them built in apps I don’t use on iPhone, iPad and Mac (Tips, TV, Weather, Stocks, Home, Podcasts) and my total app count will not grow :)

I’m going to live with this new minimalist setup for the next 3 months and will write a post after this time if they improved my workflow compared to built in solutions for iPhone, iPad and Mac or not.

Do I need more apps? Don’t think so. I lived for six months with a default only apps and I was fine. We’ll see in the future. Sure, some apps will be added in some time, but not much.

I call this list of apps as a «Second wave of my minimalist and productivity setup».

I used Endel, Portal, Brain FM and Dark Noise for relaxing, focusing, resting and sleeping. Still miss them sometimes (seldom). Silence often is much better than any background sounds apps. No additional brain stimulation is better for me.

I used MindNode, Goodnotes, Notability, Keep It, various streaming music platforms, Spark email app.

Now they aren’t installed. I live fine without them.

Feedback, questions, ideas, thoughts

I’d love to hear a feedback from you about this topic and approach. I’ll be happy to discuss it and hear what you think.

You can contact me via this email.

P.S. I'm not a native English person, so sorry for my typos, mistakes and sometimes difficult language. I'll do my best to make my English better and improve my writing. If you find any mistake or anything that can be written better - please send me an email. I'll appreciate it.

#app reviews #digital minimalism